Executive Committee

The AELERT Executive Committee meets every 6 to 8 weeks and is responsible for providing guidance and advice on AELERT’s strategy. The Executive Committee is comprised of four officer holder positions. These positions are Chair, Vice-Chair and two Directors. The AELERT executive office holders are:


Monica 2 bwChair

Monica Collins,  Department of the Environment and Energy 

Monica Collins joined the Commonwealth Department of Environment and Energy as Head of the Compliance and Enforcement Branch. Monica most recently worked with the New South Wales Office of Environment and Heritage, and has more than 20 years’ experience working in the environment sector. 

Monica has worked in environmental regulation, compliance and enforcement, community engagement, and environmental program delivery roles, including in the Murray-Darling Basin, threatened species programs, kangaroo management, renewable energy and energy efficiency. Monica also brings experience in managing regulatory reform and change management. 

Narrelle SargentVice-Chair

Narelle Sargent, ACT Environment Protection Authority

Narelle joined the ACT EPA on 30 November 2017 and brings extensive experience in leadership and management in the environment, natural resource, regulatory, planning and central agency coordination, in NSW and ACT governments.

This is coupled with high level achievements in inter-governmental relations, stakeholder engagement and negotiating and collaborating across the tiers of government, including driving NSW’s engagement with the ACT to deliver the inaugural ACT and NSW Memorandum of Understanding for Regional Collaboration.

Narelle has administrated a number of pieces of Commonwealth, ACT and NSW legislation relating to environment protection, nature conservation, water management and land use planning.

Narelle is responsible for leading the day to day regulatory functions of the ACT EPA and works collaboratively both within government and with the community to achieve positive environmental outcomes. The ACT EPA regulates activities related to air, land and water, environmental noise, water resources, lakes, contaminated sites, firewood merchants, clinical and hazardous waste, and pesticide use.

She holds a Bachelor of Rural Science (Hons) and a Graduate Diploma in Management & Professional Studies.


Germaine Healy Profile picDirector 

Germaine Larcombe, Department of Water and Environmental Regulation

Germaine is a senior environmental regulator in Western Australia with the newly established Department of Water and Environmental Regulation. She has over 14 years’ experience in environmental regulatory delivery specialising in environmental compliance and enforcement delivery.

Germaine has experience in international waste shipment regulation under the European Union’s Network for the Implementation and Enforcement of Environmental Law and in the practical application of a wide range of environmental legislation both in Ireland and Australia.

Germaine holds a Bachelor of Science with Honours from the University of Aberdeen, Scotland.


No PictureDirector 

Mark Rossiter, Environment Protection Authority Victoria





Tracy Mackey, NSW Environmental Protection Authority





The AELERT Executive Office Holders also sit on the AELERT Steering Committee.