2018 AELERT Conference - Final Speakers Announced

We are delighted to announce the remaining keynote speakers for the 2018 AELERT Conference:

Tim Flannery
Scientist, explorer and conservationist

Tim Flannery is one of Australia's leading thinkers and writers. A scientist, explorer and conservationist he has published more than 130 peer-reviewed scientific papers and many books. He was described by Sir David Attenborough as one of the great explorers, and as a scientist who's discovered more new species than Charles Darwin. His landmark works The Future Eaters and The Weather Makers have changed the way we think about the environmental challenges facing the world. He spent a year teaching at Harvard, and in 2007 he co-founded and was appointed Chair of the Copenhagen Climate Council. Named Australian of the Year in 2007, he works with governments and business in North America, Asia and Europe on climate change action. In 2011 he became Australia’s Chief Climate Commissioner, and in 2013 he founded and heads the Australian Climate Council. He serves of the Sustainability Advisory Boards of Siemens and Tata Power (India).

Pragati Shahi
Journalist and member of WildTiger Conservation Research and Development

Pragati Shahi is an independent environment writer who has nearly a decade long experience of working with print and digital media at national and international level. During her eight-year journalism career, Pragati has won various awards and fellowships including WWF Media in Conservation Award, Best Environment Reporting Award, South Asia Climate Change Award and British Council Climate Champion. Her features have also appeared in several international media including Time, The Atlantic, Public Broadcasting Service, Broadly, UCANews and Al Jazeera.

Ben Eggleton
Professor of Physics at University of Sydney, co-director of the NSW Smart Sensing Network

Professor Benjamin Eggleton is a Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney, Director of the ARC Centre for Ultrahigh bandwidth Devices for Optical Systems (CUDOS), Director of the Institute of Photonics and Optical Science (IPOS) at the University of Sydney and co-Director of the NSW Smart Sensing Network (NSSN). He was previously an ARC Laureate Fellow and an ARC Federation Fellow twice. He obtained the Ph.D. degree in Physics from the University of Sydney in 1996. Eggleton is a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (AA), the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), the Optical Society of America and IEEE.

You can download the updated conference program here.

Conference Dinner

Date: Wednesday 14 February (Day 1) 
Time: 6.30pm-11.30pm
Location: Dockside, Cockle Bay Wharf
Notes: Tickets cost $130.
You will make your own way to and from the dinner.

Join us at the Conference Dinner, held at the beautiful Dockside Function Centre, with views over Darling Harbour and the National Maritime Museum.

You won't want to miss the conference dinner - the entertainment we have lined up with put a smile on your face and a wiggle in your walk!

If you are not already registered for the dinner, click here to add it to your registration. Note that dinner is included in your registration, but you must indicate that you are attending to be allocated a ticket.