Search archive

Search Archive

The AELERT Achievement Awards


The AELERT Achievement Awards recognise AELERT’s signature values and beliefs: collaboration, leadership, excellence, Innovation and Improvement in environmental regulation.

There are two awards that celebrate best practice as well as improvement in the practice of the regulatory craft –

  • Achievement in Building the Regulatory Craft
    This award will be presented to a person or group who has significantly contributed to the environmental regulatory profession. Their contribution should span jurisdictional boundaries.
  • Achievement in the Regulatory Profession
    This award will be presented to a person or group who has excelled or significantly improved in their personal regulatory performance within their home agency or jurisdiction.

The Awards will be presented at the 2018 AELERT Conference dinner in Sydney on 14 February 2018. Award winners will receive complementary full registration for the next AELERT Conference.

Assessment of nominations

The Modern Regulator Improvement Tool (MRIT) was designed to provide a useful way for environmental regulators to assess where they are on their journey towards being a modern or effective regulator. It provides a mechanism for agencies to assess their level of development against 12 attributes of a modern regulator, grouped into the following four broad themes –

  1. Vision, Role and Strategy
  2. Capability and Improvement
  3. Governance and Delivery
  4. Leadership and Culture

The Modern Regulator Improvement Tool attributes will form the criteria against which each nominee is assessed.

Important Dates

Nominations Open
Friday 22 December 2017

Nominations Close
Friday 2 February 2018

Finalists Announced (three per category)
Early February 2018

Winners Announced
14 February 2018 (AELERT Conference Dinner)

How to Nominate

The nomination process will be open to all AELERT members and all AELERT members will be eligible to be nominated. Nominations will only be accepted through the online nomination process.

Nominations will close Friday 2 February 2018.

Nominations must include a summary of no more than 500 words outlining the nominee’s achievements and how they have excelled in the category for which they are nominated.

Nominations can be made for an individual or a team. Self-nominations will not be accepted. All nominations received will be collated by the AELERT Secretariat and forwarded to the judging panel for consideration.

Judging Panel

The judging panel will comprise the AELERT Steering Committee or a sub-committee thereof as decided by the AELERT Steering Committee. In the event that a Steering Committee member is themselves nominated, they will excuse themselves from the judging process. Any conflicts of interest must be declared.

The Award

For each of the award categories the winner will receive a free registration to the next AELERT Conference and Conference dinner as well as a trophy.  In the case of a team winning the award, a maximum of two free tickets will be awarded. 




Hugh Mackay is a psychologist, social researcher and bestselling author. Hugh has had a 60-year career in social research, and was also a weekly newspaper columnist for over 25 years.

He is currently a patron of the Asylum Seekers Centre. Among many other honorary appointments, he has been deputy chairman of the Australia Council for the Arts, chairman of trustees of Sydney Grammar School, and the inaugural chairman of the ACT government’s Community Inclusion Board.

In recognition of his pioneering work in social research, Hugh has been elected a Fellow of the Australian Psychological Society and awarded honorary doctorates by Charles Sturt, Macquarie, NSW, Western Sydney and Wollongong universities. He was appointed an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2015.